eicar e.V. - European Expert Group for IT-Security
Obergasse 28A
86943 Thaining, Germany

Phone: +49-(0)8194 - 99 84 99
Fax: +49-(0)8194 - 99 85 01
eicar ® is a registrated Trademark.

18th EICAR Annual Conference 2009

"Computer virology challenges of the forthcoming years: from AV evaluation to new threat management"

Steigenberger LogoThe 18th Annual EICAR Conference to be held on May 11th and May 12th 2009, with a pre-conference program on May 9th and 10th at the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlin, Germany.
The conference brings together experts from industry, government, military, law enforcement, academia, research and end-users to examine and discuss new research and development in anti-virus, malware, e-security, e-forensics, Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Management and legal aspects of the information technology.

While the EICAR conference traditionally covers all aspects of malicious code and the development of "anti" measures, the conference 2008 shall also concentrate into the usability and issues related to independent testing of Anti-Virus (Malware) products.
The rapid evolution of technologies requires adaptation of human behaviour and in consequence leads to new laws and regulations of direct relevance to the user. The EICAR conference 2009 will therefore also concentrate on legal aspects and user liability. 

This call for papers invites therefore the submission of full papers and abstracts on one or more topics devoted to malware and anti-malware technologies, which may include but are not restricted to:

  • Malicious code and its side effects
  • Viruses and worms
  • Spyware and phishing
  • Vulnerabilities
  • Vulnerability reporting
  • e-Crime and e-Forensics
  • Cyber Terrorism
  • Legal aspects of ICT and in particular :
    • Legal liability for security flaws in Europe.
    • Enforcement of IT-Security.
    • Differences of legal regimes and their impact on IT-security.
    • Technical versus legal governance of IT-security.
    • The human factor in IT-security and its control by law.
    • International security threats and national legal regimes.
    • Legal, Privacy and Social Issues of ICT Security.
    • National-, European- and international law.
    • Ethical, moral and political issues on writing/developing of malicious code.
  • Information Assurance
  • Ethical and Moral Aspects of Malware Writing
  • Identity Management
  • ICT Security and Policy Management
  • Intrusion Detection and Prevention
  • Emerging technologies (WiFi, RFID, biometrics.) with respect to malware
  • User awareness and education
  • Malicious cryptography and steganography

Conference Program Committee
The following, provisional list of distinguished researchers and/or practitioners (listed alphabetically) have confirmed their membership of the conference program committee to date:

Fred Arbogast CSRRT - LU - Luxembourg
David Bénichou Investigation judge, Department of Justice, France
Dr. Vlasti Broucek University of Tasmania, Australia
Hervé Debar Orange FT Group, Caen, France
Professor Eric Filiol (Program Chair) ESAT/ESIEA, France
Professor Richard Ford Florida Institute of Technology, USA
Professor Nikolaus Forgo Leibniz University Hannover, Germany
Dr. Steven Furnell University of Plymouth, UK
Dr. Sarah Gordon USA
Assoc. Professor William (Bill) Hafner Nova Southeastern University, USA
Assist. Professor Marko Helenius University of Tampere - Finland
Dr. Andy Jones British Telecom & Edith Cowan University, UK
Professor Sylvia Kierkegaard International Association of IT Lawyers - UK
Ing. Philippe Lagadec NC3A, NATO, Brussels, Belgium
Dr. Cédric Lauradoux University of Princeton, USA
Dr. Ferenc Leitold Veszprog Ltd., Hungary
Professor Grant Malcolm University of Liverpool, UK
Professor Jean-Yves Marion LORIA, Nancy - France
Professor Yves Poullet Facultés Universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix, Belgique
Professor Gerald Quirchmayr University of Vienna, Austria - University of South Australia, Australia
Dr Frédéric Raynal Sogeti/Security Labs - France
Assoc. Professor Paul Turner University of Tasmania, Australia
Professor Andrew Walenstein University of Louisiana, USA
Professor James Wolfe EICAR Technical Director
Dr Stefano Zanero Politecnico di Milano, Italy
realized by trivent media & design
© 1998-2018 · EICAR - European Institute for Computer Anti-Virus Research e.V.